Honoring friends in Spanish

It’s been a long while since I last wrote, but I assure you my Spanish studies have continued. Unfortunately, I can’t say the same about my consistent French with my toddler. It is a constant struggle to balance English and French. Isn’t it almost time for New Year’s resolutions?

Later today, I will make a presentation in my Spanish conversation course. We were asked to give a presentation over an issue in a Latin American country. Since we have talked about environmental issues this semester, I decided to honor my friend Arturo with a presentation on his work with, and passion for, sea turtles.  Arturo spent years researching sea turtles in Costa Rica and St. Eustacia, and I have learned enough over the years from him to give a decent introduction of the topic and the urgency of the problem.

I have always considered Arturo as somewhat of a hero for his dedication to his work, and for following his passion and turning it into a career.  Today, it is even more special because I can honor him in my third language. Just like my experience this year at the radio station, I can’t believe I can actually present something interesting in Spanish.  It is so rewarding, and when I can use it to brag on an old friend, it becomes a great milestone.

Now, about that French…what am I going to do? Anyone using a non-native language with their child have recommendations for how to not slip into your native language? Maybe a small shock collar tuned to English?

Leave a Reply

